Police Magistrates (R.S.A. 1942, c. 134).—Police magistrates have criminal jurisdiction and also jurisdiction in actions for debt not exceeding \$100 and wage claims not exceeding six months' wages. Ninety-six police magistrates have been appointed.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.A. 1942, c. 134).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

British Columbia.—Court of Appeal (R.S.B.C. 1936, c. 57).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of British Columbia, and four other judges who are called Justices of Appeal. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court exercises general appellate jurisdiction.

Supreme Court (R.S.B.C. 1936, c. 56).—This Court consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and five other judges who are called Judges of the Supreme Court. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction throughout the Province in civil and criminal matters.

County Courts (R.S.B.C. 1936, c. 58).—There are eight counties in the Province with a County Court for each county and one or more judges for each County Court. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. Each County Court has jurisdiction up to \$1,000 generally and in some cases up to \$2,500 and has jurisdiction in criminal and probate matters. The Courts have no jurisdiction in certain types of personal actions such as libel, slander or breach of promise of marriage.

Small Debts Court (R.S.B.C. 1936, c. 62).—The Small Debts Court Act provides that the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint any stipendiary magistrate, police magistrate or any two justices of the peace to exercise small debt jurisdiction within the territorial limits for which he or they have been appointed. There are 97 Small Debts Court magistrates. Jurisdiction is limited to \$100 and an appeal lies to the nearest County Court judge or Supreme Court judge.

Magistrates and Justices of the Peace (R.S.B.C. 1936, c. 163).—Magistrates and justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Section 2.—Provincial Governments

In each of the provinces, the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council and acts on the advice and with the assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislature of each province, with the exception of Quebec, is now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.